Search the site here:

WOSSAA senior badminton

 Four top eight results for local players


   East Elgin Eagles Wall and Cattysse lose to eventual gold and bronze medalists

   in girls' doubles at the WOSSAA senior badminton championships



  May 1, 2022


  • action
  • action
  • action
  • action
  • action
  • action


By Rob J. Ross

STRATHROY, Ont. - The OFSAA drought continues for South Division schools in badminton.

No one from the South (Elgin County schools) or Lord Dorchester, advanced to OFSAA, from the WOSSAA senior badminton championships, April 28, at Strathroy DCI.

Three teams and two individuals did finish in the top eight.

East Elgin Eagles' girls' doubles team of Selecia Wall and Ella Cattrysse finished seventh overall. Their losses were to the eventual champions, Rylie Mizak and Monique Van Eyk and the bronze medalists, Morrisey and Hanham, both from London Aquinas.

Dorchester Beavers' Evan Boldt, in men's singles and Samantha Heng, in girls' singles, both finished eighth.

West Elgin Wildcats girls' doubles team of Ella Mairleitner and Karleigh Bodkin, also placed eighth.

Central Elgin Titans Emma Westbrook, in girls' singles and Titans' boys' doubles team of Liam Miskelly and Marcus Sao, both went 1-2.

Glencoe's John Van Bilsen was 1-2 in boys' singles, while teammate Adrian Barnes was 0-2.

Two mixed doubles teams, Parkside Stampeders Vincent Moore and Lillie Penner and East Elgin Eagles Kaleigh Kummer and Alan Wall, came up empty in each of their two matches. Parkside's girls' doubles Savannah Page and Grayson Moore and Julia Telford, in girls' singles, also were 0-2. Dorchester's boys' doubles David Johnston and Ben Staeyart, were 0-2.

London Aquinas won the team title, led by gold medals from Mizak and Van Eyk and their mixed doubles pair of Rachel Goris and Brady Schnare.

The top two in each of the five disciplines, advance to OFSAA is May 5-7, at Chatham.

Last time Dorchester was at OFSAA badminton, was in 2016, with girls' doubles Emily Granger and Samantha Foster. That same year, East Elgin's mixed doubles Abbey Tayloy and Cooper Van Vlaanderen finished third.

The last South Division school to qualify for OFSAA was Glencoe, in 2012. The Gaels boys' doubles team of Greg Gosnell and Nick Moxan had quite the career, winning WOSSAA in 2010, placing third in 2011, before taking the silver medal in 2012. Glencoe won the team title in 2010, with Kam Gabison placing third in boys' singles.



            More images on Instagram: hometownplay


    WOSSAA top three

Girls Singles
1.  Lucy Lee (London Oakridge)
2.  Sam Darby (London Aquinas)
3.  Vaneka Pao (London John Paul II)

Girls Doubles
1.  Rylie Mizak & Monique Van Eyk (Aquinas)
2.  Rachel Kodde & Kate DeJong (London Christian Academy)
3.  Emma Morrisey & Tabitha Hanham (Aquinas)

Mixed Doubles
1.  Rachel Goris & Brady Schnare (Aquinas)
2.  Hailey Van der Laan & Cole Landers (Aquinas)
3.  Alyssa Da Silva & Noah Roberts (CCH)
Boys Singles
1.  Ty Nguyen (London Central)
2.  Peter Pham (Montcalm)
3.  Obert Guo (Lucas)
Boys Doubles
1.  Sunjin Hong & Eunjae Lee (Lucas)
2.  Leo Shin & Tain Yao (London Central)
3.  Andrew Kerkoff & Sujai Shah (Oakridge)

Related articles:

    South-East 2022 Junior badminton

    South-East 2022 Senior badminton

   South 2022 Junior badminton

   South 2022 Senior badminton

   East 2022 Junior badminton

    East 2022 Senior badminton