Search the site here:

Brewers provincial bantam champions

 Brewers provincial Bantam champs


   Springfield wins the PWSA bantam II A title, qualifying for the Eastern Canadian

   championship, August 23-26, in Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia         


Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Brewers bantams

Springfield Brewers, Provincial Women's Softball Association (PWSA) bantam II A champions, are Siobhan Broeders, Patricia Henry-Huff, Dani Karn, Grace McCallum, Jenna McLean, Alyssa Nichols, Grace Robson, Sydney Scatcherd, Madison Shoemaker, Paige Smith, Nicole Steinhoff, Jacqui Rocheleau and Paige Wiggans. Coaches are Mark McCallum, Paul Nichols and Todd Dunley, plus manager Nicole McCallum. Springfield blanked London, 13-0, in the final. (photo / courtesy Springfield Brewers)

By Rob J. Ross 

SPRINGFIELD, ON. -  The Springfield Brewers are heading to the east coast as provincial champions.

Springfield won the Ontario Women’s Softball Association bantam II A title, blanking London, 10-0, in the gold medal game, July 29, to qualify for the Eastern Canadian under-16 women’s softball championship, in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, August 23-26.

Eastern Canadians schedule

The Brewers (2003) went 2-1 in pool play at provincials, dropping Port Perry 10-2, before doubling up on Cobourg, 10-5.

Their lone loss, at the tournament, a 6-3 setback, came against a team from their own organization, the Brewers’ 2002 team.

In the playoff rounds, Springfield simply dominated, routing Kingston, 10-1, in the quarterfinals, before doing the same 10-1 damage to Palmerston in a semifinal.

The Eastern Canadians feature the Maritime provinces, plus Quebec and Ontario.

The Brewers were allowed to pick up two players for championship and head coach Mark McCallum decided on two players from the ’02 Brewers team, Jacy Collins and Logan Meston.

Collins happens to be the Springfield Brewers Softball Association’s (SBSA) defensive player of the year.

Sydney Scatcherd, on the ’03 team, is the SBSA offensive player of the year.