Search the site here:

Silver Tankard

St. Thomas rink takes Silver Tankard


 An eight member team wins the men and women combined event



team width= St. Thomas Curling Club, Curl Ontario Silver Tankard champions, from left, are - Matt Hall, Lori Eddy, David Easter, Curtis Easter, Laura Neil, Scott McDonald, Deanna Campbell, Janet Jesty Murphy. (photo / courtesy Scott McDonald)

WHITBY, Ont. - The St. Thomas Curling Club has a provincial title for a new style of tournament.

St. Thomas is Curling Ontario's Silver Tankard champions, a combined men and women's event, hosted by the Whitby Curling Club, September 30-October 2.

Scott McDonald skipped the men's team of Matt Hall, David Easter and Curtis Easter, while Lori Eddy was the skip of the women's team with Janet Jesty Murphy, Deanna Campbell and Laura Neil.

St. Thomas defeated York Curling Club, 9-7, in the final, scoring four in the eighth and final end. St. Thomas struck first, putting up five in the opening end, before York scored seven consecutive points.

The men and women play their opponent simultaneously, with the scoreboard displaying the net result from each end of the two games combined.

For example, during one end, if the men score two, but the opponent's women score two, it would be a scoreless end.

It is the first year for this style of tournament, co-ed, previously a men's two team or women's two team event.

St. Thomas won a men's tankard in the late 1960s and another in the early 1970s. 



team width= St. Thomas Curling Club, Curl Ontario Silver Tankard champions are, front row - Scott McDonald, skip, Matt Hall, third, David Easter, second, Curtis Easter, lead; back row - Lori Eddy, skip, Janet Jesty Murphy, third, Deanna Campbell, second, Laura Neil, lead. (photo / courtesy Scott McDonald)




  © 2022