Search the site here:

EESS 2017/18 athletic awards


 Honouring the best in Eagles' athletics


  Annual awards for East Elgin secondary school


with plaques

  East Elgin Eagles senior athletes of the year, Brody Claessens and Alyssa Voros.

 (photo / courtesy EESS)

Monday, June 25, 2018

AYLMER, ON. -  The East Elgin Eagles recently honoured top athletic achievements of the 2017/18 school year, handing out the hardware at their annual athletic banquet.

Major awards 

Senior Female Athlete of the Year: Alyssa Voros

Senior Male Athlete of the Year: Brody Claessens

Junior Male Athlete of the Year: Adam Dekraker

Junior Female Athlete of the Year: Kayla Voros

Tommy White award: Kaden Vansevenant

Michael Moerman award (most dedicated hockey player): Mac VanOs

Art Wortelboer Memorial (male soccer player displaying dedication and sportsmanship): Rick Verhoef

Ron Kesteloof award (most dedicated manager): Megan Rader 

Most Coachable Athletes - Male: Ethan Haldenby        Female: Caitlyn Evely

G.A.B.B.A.A. award - Male: Maya Allen        Female: Hayley Ostrander

Leader of the Year: Male: Duncan Matthews        Female: Ali VanGorp

Joe Van Dyk Memorial (dedication, love of the sport, for a graduating soccer player) Male: Brody Claessens        Female: Nicole Friesen

Judi Wright Citizenship: Melissa Hiebert

Colin Hood OFSAA award: Male: Kaden Vansevenant        Female: Leah Moore

Stu Phoenix award: Male Ethan Haldenby         Female: Hannah DeCoutere


Team MVPs


Junior girls' basketball: Kayla Voros

Senior girls' basketball: Tori Kuhn

Field hockey: Leah Moore

Junior football: Adam Dekraker and Cole Seaton

Senior football: Rob Redecop

Junior boys' volleyball: Toby Rempel

Senior boys' volleyball: Jamie Braun and Jamie Parker

Golf: John Orelebar and Felicia Moyer

Cross Country: Hallee Knelsen and Nathaniel Abell


Junior girls' volleyball: Kayla Voros

Senior girls' volleyball: Alysssa Voros

Girls' hockey: Hannah De Couture

Boys' hockey: Duncan Matthews

Junior boys' basketball: Elijah Krahn

Senior boys' basketball: Peter Braun

Curling: Caitlyn Evely and Owen Kerr

Swimming: Brennen Piche-Leclair and Hayley Broer


Girls' soccer: Bekah Wieler

Softball: Meghan Wright

Boys' soccer: Chad Dueck

Baseball: Devon Kellington

Junior badminton: Cameron Wall and Kayla Voros

Senior badminton: Alyssa Voros and Cooper Van Vlaanderen

Track and field: Track- Amy Ropchan, Eric Baeza Field -  Alyssa Braun, Danny Wiebe

Ultimate frisbee: Duncan Matthews