Search the site here:

TVRA S-E senior badminton


East Elgin takes TVRA S-E team title


   Eagles send six athletes to WOSSAA senior badminton 

Lauren in action

    Lauren Wohlgemut, at the TVRA South-East senior badminton championships. Wohlgemut beat Miranda Gowdey, of Central Elgin CI, in the ladies' singles final. (photo / courtesy of Ellen C. Foster)

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

By Rob J. Ross

WOODSTOCK, Ont. - The East Elgin Eagles are taking their wings to the next level.

East Elgin won two of the five divisions, en route to winning the team title, at the Thames Valley Region Athletics (TVRA) South-East senior badminton championships, hosted by Huron Park Secondary school.

The Eagles' mixed doubles team of Abbey Taylor and Cooper VanVlaanderen and the women's doubles team of Kendra Cornelissen and Leah Moore, won gold.

East Elgin sends a tournament high six athletes in four divisions, to the Western Ontario regional (WOSSAA) tournament April 20, at Strathroy District CI.

The top four in each of the five divisions from the South-East, move on to WOSSAA. The South region held the edge taking 12 of the 20 qualifying positions.

Eagles' Leo Centeno lost to Woodstock CI's Mackenzie Bergen Truscott, in the men's singles final, while Eagle Morgan Blair placed fourth in the ladies division.

The Central Elgin Titans have athletes in three divisions heading to WOSSAA.

Miranda Gowdey placed second in ladies' singles, Brady and Landon Johnstone, were third in men's doubles and Ben DeJong, placed fourth in men's singles.

Lauren Wohlgemut, of Lord Dorchester took the ladies' singles title, beating Gowdey in the final.

Dorchester's David Henshaw and Nick McLean placed second in men's doubles.

West Elgin Wildcats' Garrett Dielman and Brandon Sadecky captured the men's doubles title, while Wildcats' Kenzee Ellis and Malory Hooghiem, were third in women's doubles.

Glencoe had two teams qualify in mixed doubles.

Mackenzie Gould and Josh Hamilton were second, losing to Eagles' Taylor and VanVlaanderen, while Katharina Robinson and Matt Thirwell, placed fourth.